Ok. Now smock it to me!

Smock in repose.

I finally moved my sewing machine and doodads downstairs and got set up on a big table with room for cutting and sewing. Makes all the difference. Of all the obstacles that keep me from sewing, I think hunching over a pattern on the floor to trace and cut was both the worst and the easiest to remedy. Now that I’ve solved that problem, I’ve finally finished up a shirt that’s been in the works for months.

I was trying so hard to look normal in this picture, but my hair had other plans.

This shirt started life as a humongous collared button up that I found at a thrift store. I originally tried to make it a slightly less humongous button up, but the fabric (silk! for $0.90! haha!) defeated me. I decided to turn it in to a tank top based on Collete’s Sorbetto (the mother of all tank tops). Why making a tank top would help me work with the fabric is difficult to understand now, but it made sense at the time. Anyways, I stumbled along, figured out I needed a special needle to work with silk, stumbled a little more gracefully, then I got to the neckline. I thought I would peter pan collar it, but that seemed like too much work for, lets be real here, a trend that doesn’t look that good on me and will probably be out by the time I figure out how to do it. So bias binding it is! Now I just have to figure out how to that…

Look. I found a tree.

Three months later, a shirt is born! A strange and deeply flawed shirt. I wasn’t going to tell you how flawed it is, but I just can’t do it. In place of confidence, I’ve opted to tell people that this shirt has serious problems, but not pointing the issues out like I’d usually do. It’s a step in the right direction. And during lulls in the conversation, my companion can pass the time surreptitiously looking for wavy seams and loose threads. Everybody wins!

Next time, a tutorial on tree climbing. First, strap on your sandals…

Standard

2 thoughts on “Ok. Now smock it to me!

    • Thanks! I’ll never wear it around you, so you’ll always think that. I am pretty proud of it, but my priority when finishing it was to FINISH it, so I didn’t do a lot of starting over when I made mistakes. Oh well.

Leave a Reply

