Put (a) corn on it.

It doesn’t have quite the same ring to it, but it’s at least as much fun and tastes so much better than put a bird on it. Especially when “it” is pizza.

Pizza!

I make these pizzas all. the. time. I don’t know if you’ve met John, but he likes pizza. And this is about as easy as any pizza could be. We get the herby pizza dough from Trader Joe’s and add pesto, goat cheese, kalamata olives, roasted red peppers, shredded mozzarella, and recently, on my half of the pizza (John’s a traditionalist), lots of sweet corn. On this particular night there were also some grape tomatoes. I don’t know how that happened. I hope it doesn’t happen again.

Because it was super hot on this particular day, I decided it was also a good idea to roast a large eggplant. For this roasted eggplant salad from Melissa Clark’s blog.

Roasted eggplant!

It’s good. It’s even better with fresh sweet corn. I think I also added some red bell peppers because we had one that needed to be eaten. But I want you to focus on the corn. My only complaint is that it’s too much eggplant for one person (the salad had too much garlic for ol’ John).  I’m not sure who to direct that complaint to because the cook here does not take constructive criticism well.

Guess what I’m having for dinner tonight? Creamed corn.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Put (a) corn on it.

Leave a Reply

