Failure

Gentle readers, I have failed you. I vowed to write a blog post every day during the month of November, and I have now missed three days. I’ll make it up though. I’m just bursting with stories. Like yesterday, a guy stood up on the bus too soon and went flying down the aisle and landed in an old woman’s lap. Surprisingly, there was no yelling or screaming, just some very polite Polish from the lady and some slightly unapologetic Polish from the amazing flying man.

Speaking of failure, I just got a job. No, I know that sounds like a good thing. And it is a good thing. It’s a great thing. I’m really excited – I think I am going to enjoy the job, my coworkers are friendly and funny, and I’m looking forward to being a productive adult. The only hitch is that the job I’m very excited to be starting is not the job that I expected I would have upon graduation. Everyone says a college degree isn’t worth what it used to be, but I didn’t think that applied to me. I was a  hard working student. I did all of my work. I did the assigned reading, even those terrible books about Jewish mysticism and feminist gender theory. I highlighted. I listened and I took notes. I spent hours writing papers on spirituality in 20th century social movements and history education reform in Northern Ireland and the United States. I really thought that I would… Wait a second. Hmmm. Jewish mysticism? History education reform? Gender and spirituality in social movements? Oh. Ok. I get it. I’m not anymore qualified for most jobs now than I was before I went to college. But if there was a job opening at a Jewish women’s religious organization that advocated for educational reform in Northern Ireland, I’d be golden.

But school was a good investment regardless – it’s true you just have to go. To get even borderline desirable jobs, you need to have something going on, like a college degree. That said, I feel strongly that no one should go to college because they think they need to in order to find a job. It’s too much work, too much money, and too many years out of your life. The value of education is so much more than just the job you get at the other end – you learn about the world and yourself, you learn how to express yourself so that other people can understand, and you get really good at typing. You meet people, ideas, and writers that shape who you will become. Although I am now $45,000 in the hole, and my future doesn’t not seem markedly brighter than when I started going to school four and a half years ago, I wouldn’t trade it. I would, however, try and talk myself out of borrowing that much money. What was I thinking?

Decoy penguin shot

Anyway,here’s a blurry picture of some penguins to distract you all from the fact that I am still two blog posts behind, and running out of content. All of these animal pictures are from the Shedd Aquarium, a very exciting and expensive Chicago attraction. John and I went a couple of weeks ago, and I promise to tell you about it soon. Maybe tomorrow? You’ll have to tune in to find out.

Standard

One thought on “Failure

  1. Zoe says:

    Conga-ratulations!! That’s the text from a greeting card I once bought with a picture of some women doing the conga. But really, conga-rats on the job!! Whatever it is! As for the worth of my own college experience, it was only good I went because I learned a bunch of social stuff that most people do in 6th grade. But that’s pretty important, right?

Leave a Reply

