In which I make clear I do not understand my audience

Now that I’m not in school, there are two things I really like to do: read and make stuff. Actually I spend more time looking at things I could  make on the internet, but that’s a much less interesting hobby. It is, however, how I came across this book cover – an embroidered cover of Little Women soon to be released by Penguin.

courtesy of feelin' stitchy

 

While I do think it is generally lovely and awesome, I wish that some of the pictures on the cover had more to do with the story of Little Women. I have read Little Women more than almost any other book (Harry Potter books 1-4 and To Kill a Mockingbird are the clear winners, but Little Women runs a close third (also I just finished a pretty great biography of Louisa May Alcott – she is INTERESTING. Anybody want to talk about her?)), but I recognize very few of the embroidery panels as being part of the book. The front cover is pretty self-explanatory – Orchard House, Jo’s manuscript, Meg’s gloves, Mr. March’s army uniform cap, and Beth’s piano – but where does the horse come in? On the back, I get that Jo liked to read, but a stack of books just doesn’t register for me. And the cup? I don’t get it. On the front and back flaps, the panels seem to be random, lovely, but unrelated to the book. Are parasols important to the story? Do they visit a moonlit lake? And what are those beady things? Am I forgetting important parts of one of my favorite books? That’s highly possible.

Don’t worry, as a concerned fan who will never buy this book because libraries exist, I’ll make some suggestions.

1.) Limes – Amy’s great downfall at school.

2.) The post office box that Jo sets up so Laurie and the March girls can communicate, although I’m not sure whether they really describe what it looks like in the book.

3.) Stage curtains! This is a really good idea because a.) the March sisters and Laurie, eventually, put on theatricals for their families; b.) Meg and John Brooke first fall in love while coming back from a theater; c.) Professor Bhaer takes Jo backstage to watch an opera in New York – at least in the Winona Ryder movie, and really that’s the version we’re all thinking of while we read the book.

4.) Winona Ryder’s face. Same reason as #3a.

5.) Jo’s hair because that’s one of her big coming of age moments.

That should about do it. Discuss.

Also, the weather in Chicago is shaping up to be great today. What you got, Portland?

Double also, I have an interview scheduled for today and Monday, so I have high hopes of being (more) employed very soon.

Standard

5 thoughts on “In which I make clear I do not understand my audience

  1. Change #4 to be Christian Bale’s face and then I’ll be on board…

    Also, Portland today is not too bad.. overcast but with some cloud breaks. It’s colder than chicago i think? My app says it’s 46 here and 50 there. Looks like it’s fixin to go on a rain bender in the coming week…

    Good luck on the interviews!!

    • There could be several additions – one with Winona, one with Christian (that is a fantastic idea, by the way), one with Claire Danes, and one with Kirsten Dunst. Oh, maybe one with Susan Sarandon. This is going to be great.

  2. Summer says:

    I agree with your suggestions, and would also suggest a clothespin, and some female symbols as we all know Lousia May Alcott was one of my tribe.

  3. Zoe says:

    Ooh! Ooh! More on LMA! I suppose I could just wiki her and find out the most exciting bullet points of her life, but I so enjoy this open-forum format where you’re still taking suggestions. Before we know it this blog is going to blow up and you have to have your assistants read all of the comments to respond to them and they’ll be like “who is this zoe jerk? Sounds like a cats name to me. Must have been a mistake-type by a cat. Ignore it!” And MAX riding will skyrocket due to a singular coyote sighting and that generic Monster’s gravestone will sell out at Walgreens and Riteaid next year kind of like the “Scream” mask did the year following that movie release. I love your blog and can’t wait for more.

    Ahem, Zoe.

    • If my assistants ignored a comment typed by a cat, mistake or no, they would be fired immediately. It’s a cat for crying out loud. Also, If they mistook one of your comments for a cat comment. Ridiculous. But I agree, LMA is fascinating. She was very emotional, which I wouldn’t have guessed. Her family was also crazy and fascinating. Her youngest sister had her first child when she was 39. That blew my mind. Also she had all sorts of health problems as an adult because, they think, of the poor nutrition. Her father seemed to be incapable of making a living, so they were starving and cold for much of her childhood. They were also vegetarians. Can you imagine being a vegetarian in the 19th Century, with no fake meats, tofu, or peanut butter? I would be starving, too. She often said about herself, “Not bad for a vegetable product.” Pretty awesome, right?

Leave a Reply

